In Honor of Father’s Day!

I really love Father’s Day. It’s the day that we get to celebrate some of the coolest people I have ever known. So, to all the Dads out there, you’re awesome. Period.

That being said, I would like to honor my own Daddy by listing the 3 greatest lessons he’s taught me (thus far).

1. How to put God first (always).

Firstly, this has nothing to do with the fact that I am a pastor’s kid. Long before my parents were licensed pastors, putting God first was something that was very clearly modeled before myself and my siblings. When we were kids (up until I left for college), we would congregate as a family in one of our bedrooms and read the Bible and pray together. It sounds cheesy, but it seriously some of the most memorable parts of my childhood. Anyway, the thing I loved the best was that every night before we went to bed, my dad would bless us individually with the priestly blessing found in the book of Numbers.

“The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face shine on you and be gracious to you; the LORD turn his face toward you and give you peace.” – Numbers 6: 24-26

Throughout my life, I have watched my dad model a consistent walk before God… in our family, in his job, and in his ministry. I could not ask for a better example of what it truly means to put God first in your life.

 

2. How to take care of my own stuff

In other words, responsibility. My dad is a very responsible person and passed that trait on to me (and my siblings too). He was the person that would make me call when I was having trouble with my bank or encourage me to deal with conflict instead of running from it or would make me save money for something that I really wanted (or needed). And, to be honest, I hated it. But it was something that I learned at a young age, and the principle of responsibility has helped define who I have become into my adulthood. Along the same vein, he also taught me about commitment. I learned that when I commit to something, I have the responsibility to see that commitment through to the end.

 

3. How to be serious, but not to take yourself too seriously.

My dad, by his very nature, is pretty serious. He works with numbers and money and that isn’t a very ha-ha type of job. But there is a time and a place for that. I watch my dad crack up numerous times in a week (usually at the hands of my sister and brother), I’ve watched him be complete ridiculous in children’s ministry throughout the years,  and, well…

Camp Cedar Crest

…I think the picture says it all really.

 

There are so many things that I could say that I’ve learned from my dad and I’m sure that there is plenty more to learn from him. But today, I will say HAPPY FATHER’S DAY!!!

About jenthigpenn

Worshipper by design, worship leader by calling... ordinary becoming extraordinary by the grace of God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

