The Journey

Over the past 6 weeks or so, I’ve attended a couple of weddings, a graduation and

Ceci's 21st Birthday @ the Beach

numerous birthday celebrations (including my own). I love the celebration of accomplishments, of milestones. Those are the days in which we remember the journey and admire how far we’ve come since day one.

My Birthday

My 24th Birthday!

As I’ve gained this crazy appreciation of the milestone, I also have found a greater appreciation for the “other” days. Those days that make up the journey. To the average onlooker, I have not accomplished anything really BIG in the last year. No graduation, no wedding, no new job, etc., etc. BUT, I am not the same person I was a year ago. And that is a HUGE accomplishment.

I’ve learned to appreciate the milestones when they come but to love the journey

Rheanna & I at graduation

Rheanna's College Graduation

that gets me there (wherever “there” might be) even more! Each of those “non-significant” days play a significant part in getting me to that next BIG DAY. And it’s in those “other” days that I make new friends, go on new adventures, and experience life! Every day may not be a BIG DAY, but it is a day to live and to experience and to enjoy.

Prepare for tomorrow, be excited for your next BIG DAY… but don’t worry about it. It will come. Enjoy today!

“Today is your day! Your mountain is waiting. So… get on your way!” -Dr. Suess

About jenthigpenn

Worshipper by design, worship leader by calling... ordinary becoming extraordinary by the grace of God.
This entry was posted in Events, Future, Growing Up, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

