On Dreams

“All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was all vanity: but dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible.” – T.E. Lawrence

[I find there is a bit of irony in the title of this blog and the fact that it is almost 1 am on Tuesday and I can’t sleep…  just sayin’.]

When I was a kid, I dreamed of being the next Whitney Houston (the pre-Bobby Brown, non-cracked out version – circa 1990). I dreamed of being rich and famous and having a killer vocal range that could only be envied but never replicated. I used to dream SO BIG!

Somewhere, along this journey of my youth, I stopped dreaming. Or, at very least, I would only acknowledge the dreams that I knew I could accomplish. I became very content with where I was because I knew I could succeed. There was no risk involved, therefore there was no risk of failure. I began to settle. Change was the enemy and comfort was the goal.

Until recently, that is.

I began to dream again. And not just the manageable dreams… the impossible dreams (cue the music from the Man of La Mancha here). And at that moment that I began to look at the dreams that I could make happen, I started to believe that I can change the world. And that opened up a world of creativity, joy, hope, life, passion, and wonder.

I don’t plan on being the next Whitney Houston anymore (really, who would want to be at this point?!?!), but I do believe that there are things within me that can change the world. Mahatma Gandhi said, “Be the change you wish to see in the world.” And that’s my new plan.

I didn’t make any resolutions for the new year, because, if I’m honest with myself, I don’t keep them. However, my goal for this year is to change my world. If not the entire world at once, I can at least do something to bring change to those in my sphere of influence. I can begin to make plans to live out the dreams that are in my head and my heart instead of just dreaming about them. And I can begin to find ways to help others live out their dreams. Because, I believe, that when we all begin to live out our dreams, we truly can change the world.

“Keep away from people who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great make you feel that you, too, can become great.” – Mark Twain

About jenthigpenn

Worshipper by design, worship leader by calling... ordinary becoming extraordinary by the grace of God.
This entry was posted in Future, Hope. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

