Confessions of a Kids Camp Director

Today I got back from my final camp of the summer… and it was a camp that I was directing. It is so crazy to see where God has brought me over the past sixteen years since my first year as a camper at Camp Cedar Crest to actually leading an entire camp. I’m still amazed. I knew at 15 that I wanted to one day direct a kid’s camp, but I had no idea that I would be 23 when it actually happened. Did I mentioned that I’m amazed?!?! It is awesome to know that when God gives you a dream, He’ll make it happen, regardless of how impossible it may seem.

So, kids camp was absolutely amazing. It ran so smoothly and God really did an amazing work in the lives of the campers, group leaders and the staff. I couldn’t have asked for a better year to direct a camp. And I am SO THANKFUL for the entire staff that loved and supported me in something that I had never done before. I feel like I have come out of this weekend and this summer having learned so much about myself, about life, and about ministry.

I’m still trying to process everything that has taken place this summer, but I can safely say that this has been the most surreal summer of my entire life. I look forward to seeing where the next steps in my life are headed, but I am so glad to be able to look back and see how far God has brought me at this point.

I am also super thankful for all of the men and women that God has put in my life throughout the years to influence and shape who I have become and will continue to become. Ironically, Jason (who led Highway 56 when I was at TCOTW) and Leaf (my jr. high pastor @ TCOTW) were both at this camp, along with my parents and many other adults who have loved and encouraged me throughout the years and helped me get to where I needed to be to hear God’s voice. It was nice to be able to say thank you. And it’s really cool to know that God has given me the opportunity and the responsibility to be one of those people in the lives of the elementary kids that I meet and talk to at camp as well as the kids that I have a weekly influence over at my own church’s youth group.

Now it’s time to take a deep breath and start the recovery process! There’s still so much to process and consider, but I’m looking forward to a time of rest while I’m figuring this all out. I might even have time to have friends again!!! (Just kidding, sort of.) But, thank you all for your prayers and encouragement over the past few months (especially Jeff & David, you guys are awesome!), it has been an incredible journey that I’m honestly a little sad to see come to an end. But who knows what God has coming?!?!?!

“Never be afraid to trust an unknown future to a known God.” – Corrie ten Boom


Oh, by the way, click here to check out our kids camp staff dance! You won’t regret it, I promise!

About jenthigpenn

Worshipper by design, worship leader by calling... ordinary becoming extraordinary by the grace of God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

