More than a song…

Can you really get something for nothing? Can you have a great friendship without investing in it? Can you have a reliable vehicle without making sure it has what it needs? Can you have a beautiful garden without tending it? If we’re honest with ourselves, the answer is no.

At church on Sunday, we started a series on sacrifice based on our word for the year, which is found in 2 Samuel 24: “I will not sacrifice to God offerings that cost me nothing.” It got me thinking, “What do I bring as an offering & am I really sacrificing anything to do it?” My very next thought was, “I’m a worship leader so OF COURSE I’m bringing an offering… yeah, I’m good.” Followed by the thought, “Who are you kidding?”

In the most honest of moments, I can say with utmost certainty that my worship is not always a sacrifice. For me, music is something that comes easy to me and there are worship songs that I can play in my sleep. It doesn’t really cost me anything to sit behind a keyboard on a Sunday morning and sing. It’s not that it isn’t sincere, because it is… it’s just not a sacrifice. Sacrifice requires something more than what’s comfortable, something more than what comes easy. And worship is more than music, more than just Sunday morning.

As I embark on this season of Lent, which in itself is a season of sacrifice, it will be one of self-discovery. One in which I begin to figure out what part of myself will be laid upon the altar… where, just maybe, instead of bringing everyone else’s song, I bring my own.

About jenthigpenn

Worshipper by design, worship leader by calling... ordinary becoming extraordinary by the grace of God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

